Beacons to Honor Retired Sprague Coach/AD

2022 Class of Beacons Announced

The Salem-Keizer High School Sports Booster Club has announced their 2021-22 annual class of Beacon honorees. On June 18th, 2022 at the Elsinore Theater in Downtown Salem the following will be honored as Beacons :

School Beacons

  • McKay – The Tavera Family
  • McNary – Vic Backlund
  • North Salem High School – Claudette Groenendaal
  • South Salem High School – Lara Tiffin
  • Sprague High School – Al Zupo
  • West Salem High School – Shawn Stanley

Community Beacons

  • Alan Bushong (CCTV), Mark Gilman (KBZY), John Piper (CCTV)

Posthumous Beacons

  • Kathleen Hanneman

Go to for more information.

Buy individual tickets : $25

Doors Open at 6:00 pm.

Ceremony starts at 7:00 pm.

The Beacons will also recognize an Athlete of the Year.

Sprague athletes that have been nominated for Athlete of the Year:

  • David Sherman - Football
  • Dallong Morgan - Boys Basketball
  • Amity Rogers - Girls Soccer
  • Nicky Williams - Girls Soccer
  • Sara Abbott - Girls Cross Country
  • Brook Byers - Wrestling
  • Brayden Boyd - Wrestling
  • Ryann Davis - Wrestling


  • Created By Phil Rodin - 03/28/2022

Salem-Keizer Public Schools promotes equal opportunity for all individuals without regard to age, color, disability, marital status, national origin, race, religion or creed, sex or gender, sexual orientation, or veteran status. Learn More